MS 271 FARM BOSS® - $389.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A high-performance, high-tech, fuel-efficient chainsaw.

Bringing reduced-emission technology to mid-range chainsaws, the STIHL MS 271 FARM BOSS® is ideal for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup tasks. An improved low-emission, fuel-efficient engine cuts emissions by 50% when compared to previous models and delivers 20% longer run times than traditional 2-stroke engines. Designed with user comfort in mind, its compact, ergonomic design and advan...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 271 FARM BOSS® Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 50.2 cc (3.06 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.6 kW (3.49 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 5.6 kg (12.3 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 500 cc (16.9 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 240 cc (8.12 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 26 RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges) 40 to 50 cm (16" to 20")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 67) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3003 812 6813 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Sleek Line Glasses Zoom
    Sleek Line Glasses
    A lightweight frame made of nylon offers the ideal combination of durability and comfort. Rubber temple tips and nosepiece offer a pressure-free fit behind the ears and protection from slippage on the nose bridge area. Protective lenses filter 99% of harmful UV rays.
  • Performance Winter Protective Pants Zoom
    Performance Winter Protective Pants

    These pants have a minimum of 6 layers of cut-retardant Engtex® material to help protect the chainsaw operator.

    Front and back outer shell is made with water and snow resistant nylon. Front has Avertic® Pro by Engtex® cut-retardant material. Warm winter lining is made with Thinsulate®. Color: Black. Sizes available: S, M, L, XL.

    Thinsulate® is a registered trademark of 3M Corp.

    STIHL Pro Mark items are "Wash and Wear." They do not require dry cleaning as other brands do.

  • Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Forestry Helmet System
    Adjustable hearing protection. Epoxy-coated full face screen. Tough ABS hard hat meets ANSI Z89.1-2003 Type 1 Class G. All parts are replaceable.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 271 FARM BOSS® is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 590.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight but plenty of power and torgue Love this saw. Cranks on second pull most every time. Sometimes on the first pull.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Powerful, easy starting and maintenance makes this a Best Buy!
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding chainsaw!!!! Bought this for our home that needed tons of trees trimmed and or cut down. It handled the job with a breeze. Since we bought this home I bought this one so it could keep up as long as we own this home. Bought everything Stihl so far as my wife is from the loghing part of Oregon and she told me they were the best. I agree!!!!!
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around best This is the saw that will do it all. It is powerful but not too heavy. I use it for cutting large trees for firewood. It is the perfect size and is totally dependable - making short order of tough jobs! I owned a Farm Boss for 30 years and just got this newest model recently and it is all I ever hoped it would be. Still a straight forward basic saw but improved just right.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw I had a large tree take out my garage last week, and needed quick action to prevent further damage. I had already researched the MS271 Farm Boss, and was waiting for the right time to make the purchase. The tree sort of made it the right time, since my other saws ,which are not Stihls, are out at the farm. I picked the saw up within an hour, and was back cutting right away. Saw is a dream to wield, cuts well, and starts right up. Looking forward to attacking my overgrown timber stands at the farm when the snow clears a bit. Very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw TRADED A 30 YEAR OLD 028 SUPER FOR A NEW FARM BOSS. SHOULD HAVE TRADED IT IN SOONER. STARTS EASY, GOOD WEIGHT AND VERY GOOD POWER. I HOPE IT HAS THE DURATION OF THE OLD STIHL.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for around the house Good little saw, has not gave me any issue so far.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CUTS LIKE A BOSS VERY HAPPY WITH THIS PURCHASE. THIS WAS A NECESSITY TO CUT WOOD TO HEAT OUR HOME AND COULDN'T BE HAPPIER. ALWAYS STARTS, AND RUNS GREAT. HANDLES MUCH BIGGER TASKS THAN I EVER EXPECTED IT TOO, SEEMS TO GO THROUGH JUST ABOUT ANYTHING WITH LOW EFFORT. I CLEAN IT, AND SHARPEN THE CHAIN AFTER EVERY USE, SO I'M EXPECTING THIS SAW TO LAST A VERY LONG TIME!
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent chainsaw Got the 20 inch version one morning from my nearest dealer who is fantastic. Bought on a whim to replace a very old red chainsaw that I was tired of messing with. Fired up immediately using leftover mix from my Stihl blower. Tore through a ten-inch-diameter 40 foot pine like it was made of cheddar cheese. Tensioned the chain and checked the bar oil. Then tore through 50+ feet of hardwood nearly two feet across until the chain got dull (my fault, I think I touched the dirt with it by mistake when making 2-foot sections to haul away.) Switched for the spare chain and no problems since. Already worn some white paint off the bar so I guess it's broken in. Awesome, awesome saw with plenty of power that I'm expecting to get great use out of for many years.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't work Just purchased and worked fine for the first 20-minute test. The next day it started and quickly died and would not restart regardless of choke combination, letting it rest (flooded?), etc. This went on for the better part of an hour until the sun went down and I gave up.No wood cut, wasted my time. So now I have to drive back to the dealer and determine the issue or attempt to get a refund? Cheaper chain saws I've had in the past have been more reliable than this doorstop.
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependable Been running this saw for 3 yrs, never a problem. Follow the starting procedure and it fires up every time. Light enough for bucking, but still has enough power to handle felling, at least for the trees I cut. Keep a sharp chain and this will handle anything you throw at it. The only tricky thing I’ve run into is hot starts after refueling during a job. It’s seemed counter intuitive but I’ve had to go full choke to start back up even though the saw is warm. Very solid tool though, I’ve run it hot weather and zero degrees and it has not let me down. I would only run a Stihl from now on.
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Words cannot describe the full experience I have used other saws before and I have never used a saw that is so easy to use and so smooth. Cutting through wood like its butter is exactly what this saw does. I have the Farm Boss 20" bar and I have cut through all types of wood, pine, maple, ash, hickory, and the saw performs just as well no matter what type. Anti vibration makes it so much more enjoyable to cut wood, I was on the saw for 4+ hours only to stop to fuel and check my bar and chain oil and there was very little fatigue. I am only on my 5th tank of gas so I have not had much maintenance to perform but the cleaning after each use is very easy. The air flow feature with the winter and summer options are pretty neat. You are out in the cold and working so it never seems that bad but when your hands never get cold because of this feature, that just makes the saw and STIHL and even better product! I am not sure what else to say about the saw except for the reader to go get one and I promise you will not be dissatisfied with your choice! Get the Farm Boss MS 271 in a 20" bar and you will not use any other saw again (I am not associated any way with STIHL except for me saw, I am promoting your purchase on my own experience). This saw is the best saw out there and makes a long day of cutting wood less work and more fun!
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't ask for better I purchased the MS271 as my first chainsaw to use for cutting firewood and man am I pleased. I have used others chainsaws in the past and this one by far exceeds the power and comfort of the others I have used. Great quality, starts easily and is a powerhouse. Wouldn't trade it for any other saw.
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is all around a great saw Bought my second Ms 271 yesterday and just like my first runs and cuts great bought a second one due to first got stolen from my garage. only one thing I don't like is it cuts so good I over do it and have to pick up lot more fire wood lol.I highly recommend the ms271.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2nd stihl chainsaw Needing a bigger saw the stihl farm boss was perfect fit for firewood I’m extremely happy and a very satisfied customer stihl chainsaws are the best.
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from USA built machine The farm boss is my 3rd Stilh chainsaw. All are great machines .If you always use non alcohol fuel you will never have a problem
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Power. Starts every time. Bought the MS271 last year and been cutting lots of wood had one issue but it got replaced and been going good ever since. I had used others my friends had but this one puts me to shame and they all went out and bought the same saw. I'm going to upgrade to a pro saw soon but will keep this one. If your looking for a good saw look no farther.
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw for the dollar First chainsaw I ever bought and I am highly impressed with its performance. I’ve used other smaller STIHL chainsaws and liked them but I’ve never had one cut with the ease this one does. Very powerful, reliable, easy to start and can handle any size tree you want down as far as the bar will reach.
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEAST this saw cut's wood like a hot knife thru butter! starts up with ease!!after buying other chian saw and not even getting a season out of them it was time to step up my game and go with the best saw on the market !!!
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw Very nice, sturdy, reliable and powerful. I borrowed a friend's different branded saw prior to purchasing this beauty. Other saw was hard to start, underpowered and a general pain to use. The Stihl is on another level. You will be happy with your purchase.
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver I live in the US Virgin islands, After being hit by TWO Cat 5 hurricanes only 2 weeks apart, we had our work CUT out for us. Spent about 30 days with this saw in my hand. She took any fallen tree like a dream. Helping get many people out of their houses, and cleared the road so our community could drive safely. Between a handful of 271's and 250's, the majority of the island of St John was cleared. These saws saved lives and I owe them my own. Big thanks to Stihl, and Kenny Chesney who sent the best saws to us after the storm.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw!! This is my first Stihl and all I will say is I should have bought this years ago! Great power, slices through wood like a hot knife through butter.
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stand by Orange and white all over our farm! WHEN DO YOU START MAKING FARM TRACTORS???
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Saw for Everyday Use I've had this saw for about a month now and have had no problems. Cuts through dry walnut better than any saw I've ever had. Starts right up, runs, and idles well. I've been using it to cut larger brush and fallen trees around my 10 acres and have had no issues with continuous use. Power to weight is perfect for my use.
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cat's meow! I have owned several other chain saws, and friends of mine have consistantly told me "get a Stihl". My response has always been "I can't afford it". WELL, now that I own one, is have changed that. "I Can't afford not to own one!"East starting, easy to change the blade, easy to fill and maintain. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing chainsaw. Amazing chainsaw. I was in the market for a new chainsaw. I had so many problems with my old one, that I had enough with it. So I researched brands, as I did when buying my weedeater. I picked Stihl then for a reason, as I did this time too. However, I really wasn't sure which one to get. I had narrowed the choices down to the 250/251, 271, and 291. I really didn't need the power of the 291, nor the weight of it. The 250/251 were cheaper and weighed less, but they're only 5 cc larger than my old saw. So I picked the 271, and boy am I glad I did. It practically weighs the same as my old saw, but can cut stuff more than twice as fast. Love the fuel and chain oil caps, and the fact I don't have to use a scrench or the strength of 10 men to tighten or loosen them.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an excellent saw It starts easily, has plenty of power, cuts dry oak very fast. We heat our house with a wood burning stove so a good saw is a must. The Farm Boss is not heavy and is a pleasure to use. I am looking forward to many years of service from this fine saw.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good saw for the price Cuts fast and clean with little effort or work on my part.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth, powerful and easy to start Mine has the 18" bar. It has more than enough power to make short work of everything ive used it on. My only issue now is finding more work to use it on. Highly recommened.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and easy to continue starting after stopping I bought this Farm Boss in Avalon Ace hardware in Orlando, FL. The instruction to start/operate at Ace was excellent and the product is fantastic, reliable quality. It has power and very easy to start again after putting it down after several minutes. Delighted with this new machine.
Date published: 2017-11-14
  • y_2018, m_2, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_590
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms271, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl